April 14, 2022

Scott Blackburn, author of It Dies With You

Episode #59 brings to The Thriller Zone one of the most fun (in the South, we call it "funnest") shows to date.

Today, we welcome Scott Blackburn and his debut thriller IT DIES WITH YOU, a story about a washed up boxer who returns to his hometown to take a gig as a bouncer at a dive bar. That's when life delivers him another hook to the jaw: his estranged father, Leland, has been murdered in what appears to be a robbery gone bad at his salvage yard, Miller's Pull-A-Part.

It's a searing literary debut that explores the dangerous world of secrets threatening to upend a rural Southern town, and is a read perfect for fans of David Joy and Brian Panowich, who says..."Blackburn writes with the same ferocity as Hammett and James M. Cain."

As for this podcast host? I say it's, "Damn good writing." Moreover, I enjoyed the hell out of our time together.

Join me and Scott as we talk: writing, querying agents, goal setting, and even babies'n diapers. But mostly, it's the chat about collard greens, fried chicken, Kernersville BBQ, and Cheerwine that brings memories of my childhood flooding back with reckless abandon.

As you're sure to hear, my Southern roots return as my childhood accent gets uncovered (dang all those years in radio that squelched my drawl). It's a buncha fun you don't wanna miss!


To learn more, visit: ScottBlackburnWords.com, and follow him on Twitter @scottMblackburn.

And as always, please follow us on Twitter & Instagram @thethrillerzone, listen to us wherever you podcast, and on TheThrillerZone.com

Mentioned in this episode:

Sponsored in part by AuthorBytes.com

If you're looking for a Website Developer/Host, look no further than AuthorBytes.com. With the latest industry leading technology, new & improved SEO for enhanced book discovery, blazing fast load times, a modern design, plus 24-hour top level security, and all built upon legendary WordPress, this is the company to trust. If you're an author, a media personality, and/or a social influencer, you know the importance of a rock solid website. So, when you're ready to up your game and get a website that takes your image and business to the next level, strongly consider AuthorBytes.com where "Hope is not a strategy." AuthorBytes is a proud sponsor of TheThrillerZone.com and DavidTempleBooks.com

* * * * * 

Thank you for listening to The Thriller Zone. If you enjoyed it, please consider leaving a "5-Star" review by CLICKING HERE to leave it on this website, or write a review wherever you get your podcasts. It helps more than you know! - David